IB Logo

School, Faculty & Staff Awards

2014 USDE Green Ribbon School

Teachers Rob Breshears, Jo Dixon, and Allison Pearse accompanied Principal Tom Dodd to Washington, DC for the US Dept. of Education's (USDE) Green Ribbon Schools ceremony at the US Dept. of Commerce on July 22, 2014 where Lesher was 1 of 3 Green Ribbon Schools (http://www2.ed.gov/programs/green-ribbon-schools/index.html) from Colorado and 48 in the nation recognized with a plaque and banner by US Secretary of Ed. Arne Duncan. On August 13th, Lesher was recognized by the State Board of Education at a state board meeting at the Colorado Dept. of Education in Denver. On September 17th Lesher was part of the USDE Green Strides Green Ribbon Schools Best Practices Tour based on its achievement in the 3 Green Ribbon Schools Pillars:

  • Reduced Environmental Impact and Costs
  • Improved Health and Wellness of Students and Staff
  • Effective Environmental and Sustainability Literacy Incorporating STEM and Green Career Pathways


2014-17 CAMLE School to Watch

Teachers Jenna Ellingson, Janice Martinez, and Jo Dixon accompanied Principal Tom Dodd to Washington, DC on June 26, 2014 to the National Schools to Watch Conference where Lesher was 1 of 116 middle schools in the nation and 1 of 4 in Colorado recognized as a 2014 School to Watch (STW) through the National Forum to Accelerate Middle Grades Reform (the other 3 were Russell MS- Colorado Springs, Jenkins MS- Colorado Springs, and Powell MS- Littleton http://middlegradesforum.org/colorado/) and Colorado Association of Middle Level Education (CAMLE) based on the 4 Domains of:

  • Academic Excellence
  • Developmental Responsiveness
  • Social Equity
  • Organizational Supports and Processes

At the time Lesher was the 19th Colorado middle school recognized in the 10 years of the program.

2012 & 2017 NASSP Breakthrough School

Lesher was 1 of 10 secondary schools nationwide recognized for its academic successes as a 2017 NASSP Breakthrough School, after being initially designated through the MetLife Foundation-NASSP Breakthrough Schools program in 2012. We were honored at the 2012 National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) Breaking Ranks K-12 Conference in Tampa, FL, March 8-10, 2012, received a $5,000 grant, and were featured in the NASSP's monthly magazine, Principal Leadership. For more information about the award please click this link to go to the press release on the NASSP website.


Excellence in Education Award Nominees

(previously called the Distinguished Teacher Award until 2005)

The Poudre School District Foundation’s annual Excellence in Education Award, formerly the Distinguished Teacher Award until 2002, recognizes up to six teachers a year from the district for their achievements. Staff members from different schools nominate a deserving, experienced teacher for the award. Nominated teachers fill out a detailed list of questions and submit those, along with supporting letters from principals, fellow teachers, parents, and students. Below is a list of Lesher teachers who have been nominated (and won) the district recognition.

  • 2017-18 Jo Dixon
  • 2010-11 Rebecca Saunders
  • 2009-10 Daniel Gallegos
  • 2008-09 Janna Petersen
  • 2007-08 Lisa Crossland
  • 2006-07 Pam Scroggins
  • 2005-06 Tammy Osborn
  • 2002-03 Rose Jean Sprenger (PSD winner)
  • 2001-02 Roger Lam (PSD winner)
  • 1999-00 Charlie Ross (PSD winner)
  • 1998-99 Skip Caddoo
  • 1997-98 Lynn Bogard (PSD winner)
  • 1996-97 Scott Schlup (PSD winner), Ed Castro (PSD winner)
  • 1995-96 Susan Colvin (PSD winner)
  • 1994-95 Mike Viney (PSD winner)
  • 1993-94 Kit Mulligan (PSD winner)
  • 1992-93 Marty Marsh (PSD winner)
  • 1987-88 Thomas Balchak (PSD winner)
  • 1986-87 Jack Lundt
  • 1984-85 Barbara Lueck
  • 1982-83 Joyce Nieberger
  • 1980-81 John Boulette
  • 1979-80 Steve McNeal

Promising Teacher Award Nominees

The Poudre School District Foundation’s annual Promising Teacher Award recognizes outstanding teachers who have been in the PSD for less than five years. As with the Excellence in Education Award, staff members from different schools each nominate a teacher for this renowned award.

  • 2010-11 Jenna Ellingson
  • 2009-10 Rob Breshears
  • 2008-09 Elizabeth Hohweiler
  • 2007-08 Wylie Cate
  • 2006-07 Janice Martinez

Rotary Teacher of the Month Award Winners

The three Rotary Clubs in Fort Collins coordinate the Teacher of the Month/Year program selects worthy teachers who reflect the Rotary International principles: service, integrity, recognition of individual worthiness, advancement of international understanding and, personal responsibility to society. The Lesher principal makes the nomination.

  • 2017-18 Kelly Ross
  • 2016-17 No Nominee - Off Rotation
  • 2015-16 Andrew Reyes
  • 2014-15 Lisa Crossland
  • 2013-14 Jo Dixon
  • 2012-13 Loni Obluda
  • 2011-12 Jenna Ellingson
  • 2010-11 Waren Morrow
  • 2009-10 Janna Petersen
  • 2008-09 Dan Downing (1 fo 3 PSD Rotary Teachers of the Year)
  • 2007-08 Elizabeth Hohweiler
  • 2006-07 Janice Martinez (1 fo 3 PSD Rotary Teachers of the Year)
  • 2005-06 Kelly Keough

Mary Hull Award Nominees

The Mary Hull award is given to honor professionals who have demonstrated outstanding performance and dedication to students with disabilities. These individuals are recognized for providing for individual differences for his/her students, motivational techniques employed with the students, techniques used to inspire students’ social and personal standards, leadership abilities both personally utilized and taught, and progressive teaching techniques utilized, which contribute to educational opportunities for students in Special Education.

  • 2020-21 Heather Howe
  • 2018-19 Erica Ciardullo
  • 2018-19 Matt Mitchell
  • 2017-18 Pam Scroggins

Other Faculty & Staff Awards

  • 2017 Colorado American String Teachers Association (CASTA ) Teacher of the Year - Loni Obluda
  • 2017 Association of Classified Employees (ACE) Employee of the Year Nominee - Karen Downing
  • 2009 Poudre School District (PSD) Rotary Teacher of the Year - Dan Downing
  • 2009 Colorado Art Education Association (CAEA) Middle School Art Teacher of the Year - Deb Frain
  • 2009 Colorado Art Education Association (CAEA) Distinguished Service Within Profession - Deb Frain
  • 2008 Poudre School District (PSD) Association of Classified Employees (ACE) Employee of the Year - Kim Holtz (Office Manager)



PSD does not unlawfully discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, ancestry, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, marital status, veteran status, age or disability in access or admission to, or treatment or employment in, its programs or activities. A lack of English speaking skills will not be a barrier to admission or participation.